//
you're reading...
Biblical authority, End times, Homosexuality, Politics

Tolerance, Morals, and the problem with a post-modern view

I think we need a clearer understanding of “tolerance”. Tolerance does not equal agreeance. I can not agree with the ideologies of a particular group, and even work to increase the ideologies of my chosen group, while remaining tolerant of the opposing group’s right to defend and promote their position. Does that make sense?

Now lets put it to the test. I am a Christian who believes homosexuality is a sin. For my convictions I vote against all legalization of gay marriage and occasionally speak out against it as well to try and educate my fellow Christians on what I feel is their compromised position on the matter. What I do not do is go to a gay pride parade and bomb it. I am tolerant of their freedom to lobby for their position. Why should I not have the same freedom to lobby for my position?

Some tell me it is because I would be pushing my beliefs on others. So, let me get this straight. Do those who tell me this believe that people do not have the right to “push their beliefs on others”? See the following role-play to show how that post-modern mind frame does not hold up…

_____

ATHEIST: There’s no such thing as absolute truths other than those derived from science and math. When it comes to morality and ethics, there are multiple paths to truth and no one has any right to tell anyone else what they should or shouldn’t do.

CHRISTIAN: Alright, but didn’t I see you at the Ban-Religion protest? Why do you now have the right to tell me what I should or shouldn’t do?

_____

Apparently the atheist is not consistent in his belief of no absolutes in morality. I believe we can be tolerant of others positions while still defending our right to voice our positions. This proves that there is an absolute truth when it comes to morals. Without it, there would be no point to debating anything moral.

About Tim

http://www.gracewithsalt.com

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Tolerance, Morals, and the problem with a post-modern view

  1. I think the problem is cruel and violent bullying of gay people, including gay children. It is not Christian to bully anyone. If you make your assertions about homosexuality, you encourage the bullies, who in many cases drive gay teens to suicide. This is not the work of God.

    So I ask you not to assert your moral beliefs, not because you have no right to do so, but because your making those assertions has the baleful consequence of increasing bullying. As a Christian, I hope you do not want to increase bullying.

    Why is it so important to you, anyway? If you believe homosexual lovemaking is immoral, do not do it yourself. Simple.

    Posted by Clare Flourish | November 15, 2012, 11:42 pm
    • I’m sorry, I realize I picked way too contensious of an example. If I’d had picken a different example, I’m sure you would have jumped onboard. It’s the point behind the example that stands. I don’t want to encourage bullying of any kind, but I also cannot control the actions of any other individual but myself. If I am logically standing up and defending the faith in a rational, respectful way, then other people’s reactions are between them and God – I have no blood on my hands. It seems to me that it’s kind of like saying “well if the government wouldnt have a no-murder law, then my child wouldn’t be on death row”. That’s an irrational statement. The govt does have a no-murder law. The blood is on the child’s hand, not the govt. Passing the buck, isn’t it?

      Posted by Tim | November 16, 2012, 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

