//
you're reading...
Biblical authority

Happiness is not the point of life

I do not believe the Bible teaches that the point of life is to be happy.  I believe true happiness is only found in God.  The things of this world will always let us down.  My wife can bring me happiness.  My kids can bring me happiness.  But this form of happiness is fleeting.  If I stake my happiness in them, I may eventually be let down.  If I put my happiness in the Lord, I can never be let down – no matter what trials or troubles come my way.

I think this is best identified in the Beatitudes.  Jesus says “blessed are you”.  I think this could be another way of saying those that do these things will be the most fulfilled (or happy) in life.  So, these are the things Jesus says we should do to be happy in life:

  • be poor
  • mourn
  • be meek
  • hunger and thirst for righteousness
  • be merciful
  • be pure in heart
  • be peacemakers
  • be persecuted for righteousness’ sake

These are not things that the world would teach us would bring us happiness.  The Lord realizes that this is a fallen world, not the original design He had for us.  He realizes that we will face troubles during our days.  But He says we will be blessed because of it.  The troubles are difficult, but God is telling us that the reward is worth it.

Jesus finished the Beatitudes in Luke 6:22 with this “Blessed are ye, when men shall hate you, and when they shall separate you (from their company), and reproach you, and cast out your name as evil, for the Son of man’s sake”. 

The things that GraceWithSalt defend on this site comes from the Bible.  We know our opinions are not popular among the world, but that does not bother or deter us for we know we will be blessed for standing firm.

About Tim

http://www.gracewithsalt.com

Discussion

Comments are closed.

