//
you're reading...
Biblical authority, General

If good men do nothing…

The beliefs I defend (a 6-day creation, Noah, sin, and a Bible free of errors) are controversial topics even within the Christian church.  I have been labeled as someone unnecessarily stirring up unneeded contentions.  I have been told that my “ministry” will only work to cause more division in the church and less unity.  I’ve already explained why I do what I do, but let me respond to my critics.

Edmund Burke is famously quoted as saying “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”  The battle between good and evil has been waging since the beginning of time, and it has been shown that rarely is it numbers in the Armies that create a victory, but a realization of the truth of the matter (negotiations). 

My fundamental beliefs are not popular because their implications require changing an entire belief system.  I understand this.  But when good men do nothing, they get nothing good done.  The example of Christ is outspoken.  His views were in stark contrast to the popular accepted view of God.  I am in good company.

Remember in Revelation 3:1 that the church at Sardis seemed to be alive, but it was dead.  This is what I fear in our modern society.  James 4:17 tells us that “to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.”  What most Christians do not realize is that we are truly in a spiritual war with the very real forces of evil.  If we are not waging a battle, we are sitting on the sidelines.  Those people on the sidelines celebrate the victories (which they played no part in), and decry when bad things happen (but do nothing to fight them).

I choose to make a stand and not be inconsistent in my beliefs.  A secular notion such as evolution requires me to re-interpret what the Bible clearly says.  If I were to do this I would cast doubt on the reliability of the scriptures.  If doubt is thrown in the mix, it allows for the re-interpretation of anything, such as we see today with homosexuality.  If I am not consistent in my beliefs, I have no chance of reaching anyone with the good news of Jesus Christ, because I have no reason to believe in him if the scriptures are not reliable.

Let me be clear that I do not worship the Bible.  I worship the God that is revealed through the Bible.  Without the Bible I would only know abstract notions of a creator, but nothing about His character, His interactions with us, and His plan for our lives and future.

The positive side of my position is that the Bible is an error-free reliable foundation for anything and everything we will face in our lives.  The big questions in life are ‘where did we come from’, ‘why are we here’, and ‘where are we going’.  The Bible has very clear, beautiful and complete answers for each of these big questions.

 _____________________________

Much thanks to THIS SITE for much of the information retold here.

About Tim

http://www.gracewithsalt.com

Discussion

Comments are closed.

