//
you're reading...
Biblical authority, General

I am a Biblical literalist, young-earth creationist, opponent of separation of church/state & homosexuality. WHY DO I DO WHAT I DO?

I am unpopular and proud of it.  My worldview is in stark contrast to the accepted and popular positions even among my fellow Christians. 1st Corinthians 3: 18-19 says “Let no man deceive himself.  If any man among you seemeth to be wise in the world, let him become a fool, that he may be wise.  For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God.” 

So I ask myself, what is man’s word trying to teach me today?  It is trying to teach me that the Bible is such an old book and has gone through so many revisions that it is an unreliable document to base my views on.  It is trying to teach me that man’s superior intellect and morality developed randomly over millions of years from a “simple” molecule on through to other animals and finally to man.  It is trying to teach me that the US has absolutely no spiritual foundation, it was never intended to be run as a Christian nation, and therefore we need to bar all public reminders of God in our lives.  It is trying to classify me as intolerant and hateful if I do not support a measure to give marriage rights to all people regardless of orientation.

If I accept these teaching of man, what would my worldview become?  If I don’t trust the Bible is true and reliable in some parts, then I can’t truly trust any part of it – this makes me question the deeds and teachings of Jesus.   If man came as the result of animals living and dying over millions of years then it makes the Biblical creation account incorrect, and the doctrine of sin (death) entering the world through man incorrect, and therefore discounts the need for a savior – if death was always a part of the design.  If the country truly believes it can survive fine without the need of a reliance on God, then why would I personally need a reliance on God?  If I am to keep my mouth shut about what the Bible says about homosexuality, then maybe I’m supposed to keep my mouth shut about all of it, since again – it is shown to be incorrect.

Now, what does God’s word say about these issues (briefly)? 

Regarding the Bible as reliable – 2 Timothy 3:16 tells us that “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness” and 2 Peter 1:21 says “For prophesy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.” 

Regarding creation – Exodus 20:11 “For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth”, Genesis 2:2 “By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing”.  In Luke 11, Jesus himself speaks of Cain murdering Abel happening at “the foundation of the world” – not billions of years later. 

Regarding separation of church and state – Romans 13:1 says “Let every soul be subject unto the higher powers.  For there is no power but of God: the powers that be are ordained of God.”  Many of our government principles arose from Biblical teachings such as the separation of powers found in Isaiah 33:22 – “For the Lord is our judge, the Lord is our lawgiver, the Lord is our king.”

Regarding homosexuality – outside of the popularly used Leviticus claims that homosexuality is a sin and an abomination, the New Testament (a new covenant set up through Jesus) still refers to it as a sin in Romans 1: 26-27 and 1 Corinthians 6: 9-10 and Jesus himself refers to marriage as being between a man and a woman.

I believe the Bible verses I’ve quoted are crystal clear on these issues, and if I am going to choose to be a Christian based on the teaching of the Bible, then I have to hold to my positions.  I understand there are many different interpretations, but clearly those positions call into question the reliability of the scriptures, and without reliable scriptures our faith is like that house built on the sand – easily washed away.  I only quoted a couple scriptures on each topic above.  To hold to the popular opinions on all these issues – you literally have to re-write a majority of the Bible.  I choose to believe in a faith that does not change with popular opinion.  This puts me at odds with all of secular society and surprisingly enough – most of my fellow Christians.  But it actually makes sense, doesn’t it?  If you’re going to believe something – then believe it.

I do what I do to hopefully persuade my fellow Christians to embrace the scriptures and not stand with those who dispute them.  I do what I do as a light in the darkness of a secular society.  I do what I do to highlight the amazing grace offered through Jesus while at the same time injecting enough salt into the conversation to keep it interesting.  1 Peter 3:15 tells us to “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give a reason for the hope that you have.”

About Tim

http://www.gracewithsalt.com

Discussion

Comments are closed.

